MIC CHECK take 1…Brooklyn’s in the house

Alright everybody..been M.I.A. for a lil but I’m back. I’d like to bring to the stage a talented individual you might not know about. And if your do then your ahead of the curve 🙂 As I sit back and listen to this artist I start to feel he’s struggles…lyrically and musically he’s heading into that new direction of hiphop…

It’s not about fitting in..It’s not about flashy gimmicks. It’s just about being yourself.  Showing the world your point of view through the art of rhyme. A dieing art to some but alas I know different and I know some catz who feel the same. It’s easy to get caught up in the hype..but break down that and see what’s really real.  Not here to offer judgment but to offer a voice.

Below is the picture Miqueas Lopez representing Brooklyn NY, feels best  represents him….lets take a deeper look into the artist shall we….

1. Name- how did you come to your artist name?

well my artist name is actually my birth name, i felt it was unique enough to stand ground against an alias’. my mom was a Jehovah’s witness growing up and she happen to stumble across “Miqueas” and the rest is history.

2.Best piece of advice you have ever gotten?

The best piece of advice i have ever gotten was from my sister. she had told me once “you have the ability to make yourself into someone through what you love, not to many people have that option. What are you going to do? sit on your ass or go out there.”

3.Why are you an artist?

why am i an artist? there isn’t a simple answer to that. theres so many reasons varying from loving hip-hop and it’s culture to simply putting words together. i feel as if hip-hop is an art form… what better way to paint pictures than with words?

4.Whats the latest project<s> the people can expect from you?

at the moment, there’s no solid project for me to shamelessly plug lol. right now it’s track after track until I feel I have the material to put a tape together. hopefully through the individual track process, people can see my variations of music and not be able to guess what my next move is. I thrive off surprise.

5.What is success mean to you?/What do you consider success?

hmm.. success. honestly.. I feel success is the act of achieving a goal. there’s some fine print in there like doing what you love, living comfortably off of a hobby and things like that.

6.What is your view on the current state of hiphop?

hip-hop isn’t hip-hop to me anymore. it’s hip-pop. I dislike whats going on, but the only people who can change that are the listeners and fans. hip-hop used to be about message, culture, integrity… the only message I see nowadays is “im the best rapper because i have the most money.”

7.What Challenges have you faced recently?

challenges? recently? well life is an everyday struggle. finding ways to maintain myself and pushing the music has to be the strongest challenge im facing.


8.Recession…has it effected you in any way as an artist?

with this recession, less and less jobs are hiring. makes it pretty difficult to get an employed. lets face it, if you don’t invest in what you do, how are you going to get anywhere with it? that cliché I have encountered and grown to know all too well.

9.If nothing else what do you want the people and your fans to take away from your music?

every time I do a song, whether it be motivational, sad/depressing, metaphorical, uplifting etc. I want people to hear the voice and message of someone who has been doubted since the date of his birth, is facing adversity, and though he is struggling, he’s still trying. i want to install a feeling into people, a feeling of relation. no one is alone in this world. there’s someone out there going through similar things if not worse, and they’re continuing on.

10. Links to your current work, contact, blog, website etc.
www.miqueaslopez.webs.com < — this after construction is complete will be my official website where everything else will be linked into. news/updates/personal blog will be available.
~Finally give a listen…after all its always about the  music.~~
When asking Miqueas which on of his  songs best described him as an artist thus far , ~Stepping Stones~ was all that was said. I hope to intrigue everyone to give a listen..after all support and feedback is needed in order for any artist to grow. Dont be one-sided ya know..SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL INDEPENDENT ARTIST!!! no matter where the location.
djm.nila sign o..u..t..
Peace
~ by B.A.N. Sheep~ on December 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
