Mic Check 4…Lets Welcome Varyus Waise

Whats up ya’ll hope ya’ll had a great holiday as its coming to an end… it’s ya girl djm.nila…this next artist I’m bringing ya’ll is from Brooklyn…Known as Varyus Waise this young brother has a lot to bring to the table not to mention the bigger picture concept…~basically when there’s more behind what someone is doing..~ beyond himself he’s looking to reach todays youth…as we need more of that..after all its bridging the community that’s important for a prosperous future for both them and us.

In true fashion I always ask my artist what represent where they are from thus the image above… when asked what that meant exactly to him this is what Varyus Waise told me ~~~~

“The Brooklyn Bridge…. It’s symbolic of me because:

1..I’m born and raised in Brooklyn and proud of it!! 2..Shows the skyline of NYC at night which is something I hold dear to me. I’ve always enjoyed how peaceful New York is at night and I’m a person who likes to be at peace. Walking New York on a good night gives me that feeling. 3.. I’ve always loved black and white photography. I tend to think in terms of black and white or extremes, which is a good and bad thing, but this picture is really reflective of that. 4.. I’ve always liked the Brooklyn Bridge for many reasons. The way it’s structured. Its history. Where the endpoints are on each side. How it connects. I can go on but it’s also reflective of me because I tend to link people together because I believe in the old saying ‘strength in numbers’ and I like it when people who wouldn’t otherwise no each other become good friends through a simple connection such as myself. 5… It shows exactly where I want to be by the end of my career; at the top of New York. Every one knows the old saying, “If you can make it in New York, you can make it anywhere”. It’s something I grew up on and I use that as motivation to write better music for the people out there and I hope that one day, you’ll see me shut down Madison Square Garden for a night. (P.S. if you leave a comment on this, I’ll be sure to give you a free ticket when I do lol)”
I always had an admiration for ppl from Brooklyn and NY in general..there’s a sense of pride that is bar none the best energy. ~waiting d to be proved wrong by any1 who feels different 😉 ~ At any rate let’s get right into it….Varyus Waise…..
1. Name- how did you come to your artist name?
My name is Varyus Waise. It came about from a song I was going to write by the same title talking about how I’m a Jack of all trades sotospeak when it comes to just being myself. Hip-hop is known for taking old things and creating something new from samples to slang, so I thought taking the phrase ‘various ways’ and re-spelling it to look like a name would continue that tradition.

2.Best piece of advice you have ever gotten?

I would have to say the best advice I’ve ever gotten was from a rapper I met named Coole High at a show I did in September of ’09. I told him I was trying to making connections and trying to do this that and the third and he told me “stop trying”. He also told me a story to go along with it and it was like a lightbulb went off in my head. I haven’t “tried” to do anything since.
3.Why are you an artist?
I’m an artist because I look at people who I grew up on like Tupac Shakur, Bob Marley and see how their music influenced so many people to do right in the world. I grew on with the belief that you should always help others and I find that I would love to help people through the music I would put out.
4.Whats the latest project<s> the people can expect from you?
I’m working on a mixtape called “The Games Stop Mixtape” where I basically just show off my range as an artist and show that I’m serious about my craft as I’m serious about my passion to help those in my community. That should be out by March of 2010 but I’ll definitely hit you up and let you know when it does
5.What is success mean to you?/What do you consider success?
There’s a lot of things on my bucket list that I’d like to accomplish and I see them all happening through music. Success for me would be to start a chain of nonprofit organizations through my music in communities across the country and then across the world, put out really good graphic novels, and make a few movies. Ultimately, though, success for me would be a young kid telling me that I’m their inspiration and not because I made a lot of money but because I went to college and still put out positive music.
6.What is your view on the current state of hiphop?
I feel that hip-hop overall right now is in a low slump. There’s a lot of very small cult followings and pockets of fans here and there and not enough unity. I feel that there is not a lot of creativity in any facet along with a lot of hate. That said, this is one of the reasons I began to rap again as I live by Gandhi’s quote, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” It’s brought the love of some up and comers who people should look out for like R.Me, YC the Cynic, Warren Britt and AliC.I.A and a bunch of others in the New York underground. I’m glad this it’s in this phase though because it means that things will pick again soon. I just hope that I’m at the forefront of it.
7.What Challenges have you faced recently?
Just the general ambiguity from fans that you get when first starting out. I put out a mixtape recently and the only people I’ve really heard anything from it were from people who were on it Lol. That’s one of the things I’ve struggled with on a personal level; dealing with ‘deaf ears’ so to speak. I have no problem with hate or love but it’s silence that bothers me. Solution has just been to hit the streets hard and let them know that Varyus Waise is on the way.
8.Recession…has it effected you in any way as an artist?
In a way it has. As I’m basically my own label right now, it’s tough trying to keep up with the amount of finances you have to spend in order to put out good quality for people to like you, meanwhile prices for everything is going up by the hour. Add in the fact that you need to make sure you have your basic needs like food, clothing, and shelter, it’s been a challenge for me.
9.If nothing else what do you want the people and your fans to take away from your music?
I would love for someone to say “your song helped to me to want to go college despite the fact I dropped out of high school” or “that song you did with whoever made me feel confident about myself and my body image”. I want people to listen to my music and know that it’s ok to love yourself and have fun and that you are a perfectly fine human being regardless of what you’ve done or what you’re going through.
10. Links to your current work, contact, blog, website etc.
Most def. You can catch me my website, www.agentofchangemusic.com. I’m also on Twitter, @VaryusWaise. I have some events that I’m lining up for 2010 so be on the lookout for them. I’m also working on making Agent of Change an actual nonprofit organization so if you’re interested in helping out, you can hit me on Twitter and I’ll give you my contact information from there.

“The picture is a picture taken when I did a performance in Bed-Stuy earlier this year in April. This is me to the core. From the Iron Man t-shirt (I’m a huge Marvel Comics fan), how I thrive off energy and like to have a good time and how much I hold New York City, not just Brooklyn, dear to me as it’s the place I was born and raised in.”

Varyus Waise~~~

check out his track ~skyhigh~ “A  song called “Sky High” where I talk about my growth as a person and how I won’t anything stop me from reaching the top and achieving my dreams.”

Being about bringing more to the table then rhymes..to change something you’d want changed through what you love…isn’t that a bit of what makes life worth living..worth partaking in the things you do??? I think we all know the answer to that question..at the end of the day it comes down to this..what are you doing? for you and your fellow-man…djm.nila o..u..t..

~ by B.A.N. Sheep~ on December 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
