Mic Check 6 w/ Mark Milly~~Bmore STAND UP

Ok let’s go 2010!! its ya girl djm.nila bringing you another mic check and the artist on deckt right now is Mark Milly…Baltimores own incredible creation , you’ll soon understand, will take you further into this seemingly untouchable city… For a select few that crabs in a barrel mentality is non existent and still they strive & thrive in an environment that hungers to see them fail…it is that challenge and rising to the occasion that brings Mark Milly in front of you today so why dont we get started…..

“The Baltimore sky line image is very important to me because this is my hometown and this is a beautiful city with a lot to offer even though we get more negative views than positive.”

I decided to start this interview with a picture of Baltimore’s skyline because I want my readers to see Baltimore. Yea there’s struggle, there’s drug addicts, pushers, pimps etc but don’t feed into the hype Baltimore is so much more then the corner the wire and any other show Hollywood shows that  want to blind you. For the people who reside here..who live here day to day this is HOME and when looking back at this I will agree with Mark Milly…its simply beautiful….

1.How did you come to your name?

Well, “Lucky” came about when I was younger… I used to find money on the grown from time to time. Like not large amounts or small amounts but in between. lol, i just felt like I was luckier than the average kid sometimes. Seemed like this was a good name to go with and it fit me well but as time has passed that luck has run out in a sense. *shrugs* “Mark Milly” ? well that’s an easy one.. my real name is Mark and some childhood friends who I used to be in a group with added the “milly” on for whatever reason. It had a nice ring to it, I guess and it has stuck with me this far. I’ve been wanting to change it but I’ve come a long way and with a major name change comes trying to establish an identity and gaining a fan base all over again.

2.Best piece of advice you have ever gotten?

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Keep a strong team around you and people who believe in you, your views and what you do. etc etc. (I have a bad memory so I can’t even remember a lot of shit!)

3.Why are you an artist?

I am an artist because I am a creative person, I have a passion for music and the ability to rhyme words and put songs together like no other. I can be myself, express my views and give them to the public. It’s one of the greatest feelings in the world.

4.Whats the latest project<s> the people can expect from you?

Well, I jus released a mixtape on my birthday (12.17.09) titled “Memory Loss” this will be my last solo mixtape for a while. I’m currently working on a project with a good friend & fellow artist “Conscious” titled “Rhyme & Reason” after that I will be focusing on an EP with a New Jersey producer named “Probz”… then an EP with 1 of my producers “Al Ripken” and at least 3 compilations for my Y.H.G.M empire that I hope will all be released in 2010! Work Work Work! Not to mention the album “The Stringbeans & Strawberries Masterpiece”

5.What is success mean to you?/What do you consider success?

Success, to me means what you have accomplished already. As far as music is concerned I think it involves the number of records you’ve sold, the number of fans you have attained over a certain period of time, the wealth you’ve gained etc etc. Success is unlimited! It could mean many different things to many different people and I jus want to be successful. Thats my main goal!

6.What is your view on the current state of hiphop?

The current state of “hip hop” is UNDERGROUND… how is it dead when people are still doing it? It lives… maybe not on a MAJOR scale but people are still doing it. Hip hop artists are still keeping it alive. They may not be making as much money as “rappers” and other artists i other genres but the current state of hip hop is just not as BIG as it could be. But if you think about HIP HOP has never been HUGE it has its own identity just like any thing else.

“The picture of me represents a reflection, of course because i am standing in a mirror but it details that I am my only competition and that whatever I do reflects back on me. I am representation of and for myself.”

7.What Challenges have you faced recently?

Challenges I have faced recently would have to be getting people to listen. It seems like if your not making this amount of money or your not on TV or the radio than most people really don’t care. It’s like majority of people don’t want to hear from an up & coming artist with good music because majority of up & coming individuals are “rappers” and their raps are wack! So that makes the listener feel like why should I give anyone else a chance when I’ve heard so much wackness!?! Another challenge is being from Baltimore, MD where the support is very limited. We haven’t had any MAJOR artist as far as hip hop/rap is concerned and there are a low number of fans of local music. It’s a crab in a barrel effect here no one wants anyone to make it and if they do they rarely show it. Even the ones closest to you won’t support or help you out most of the time. It’s sad, but it is what it is.. I’m used to it.. I could go on & on its so much but we’ll save all that for later! *sigh*

8.Recession…has it effected you in any way as an artist?

**Recession? whats that?** lol that word is nothing more than an excuse. I’m recession proof and most of these dudes out here crying about “recession” have been broke! So why blame it on the economy? SMH

9.If nothing else what do you want the people and your fans to take away from your music?

Honestly, creativity and experience. I want them to believe, I want them to love it and I want to be understood. I want them to take away positivity more than anything after listening to me!


10. What motivates you to be so driven?

My son, the money and good music. I don’t just do this for me.. I do it for the people… I’m not just making music for myself. I’m doing this to get an idea of what the people want. When someone hits me up like “I loved your song” or something like that its really inspiring and motivating esp. when it comes from a stranger!

11. Links to your current work, contact, blog, website etc.

http://www.theincrediblecreation.com/

http://www.youtube.com/millyvision

http://www.datpiff.com/Lucky_aka_Mark_Milly_Memory_Loss.m84816.html

http://yhgm.tk/

at the end of day, determination and drive has gotten Mark Milly where he is, and it will take him to where he wants to be.  Staying true to yourself and following that will ultimately separate him from the rest of the pack. Plus the music speaks for itself.

After all everybody can’t be a winner but I think we know who will be…Support your local independent artist!!

o..u…t  DJM.NILA

~ by B.A.N. Sheep~ on January 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “Mic Check 6 w/ Mark Milly~~Bmore STAND UP”

  1. Great Look !!!!!

  2. thanks much sis! lets get it! =)

Leave a Reply

 
