Through the Camera Lens: The First Malik Parker~~

I met Malik about 5 years ago. It was in college where most people meet…but unlike most college students I took the drop out route and he continued on to graduate. Based in NY I remember Malik as a quite brother who said what needed to be said at times where it was appropriate..or inappropriate to some..but that was his humor. Over the years I have had the pleasure of working with him behind the scene. In essence he is my go to guy when it comes to film, cameras, etc. I’d like to introduce to you all the new face of our generations next directors, producers, and film makers…

Malik Parker.


1) What’s your stage/alias name and how did you come to that name?

I have two. I got the both while I was in high school. I’ve always been a gadget geek so back I’d always come in with something like a Palm Polite or a two-way pager, a mini disk player. People started to feel that I was rich but I wasn’t, that’s just the stuff I was into. They spent the same amount of money on their clothes and sneakers as I would on electronics but people started to hate on me a little.
One day while I was in school zoned out on whatever gadget I was playing with at the time, one of my friends started to call me “Digital”. To this day I think he was trying to diss me but like I said I’m a gadget geek so I thought it was cool. That group of friends still call me digital until this day, I use it for stuff too like my email is S.Digital. The other one I don’t use anymore but I went really hard with it for a few years. Since the first time I remember holding a professional camera people where saying I was going to be the next Spike Lee. The people that would say that never saw anything that I had done, they would just see a black kid with a camera and be like “You’re going to be the next Spike Lee”. Since none of these people saw any of my work I started not to like that. I started to respond like “I’m going to be the first Malik Parker” One day somebody called me “Young Spike’, I thought that was hot. That was back when everybody coming out in rap had “Young” in there name.

Best piece of advice you ever got?

My favorite piece of advice has to be from my first film theory class. The teacher put me on to the Picasso quote “Bad artists copy. Great artist steal.” I think that’s a cool concept. Now every time I see something I like I try to think how I could steal it, but make it new and my own.

What’s the latest projects your working on now?

I really want to make movies and music videos but when I got out of school I got a job in a TV station so I’ve been doing more stuff on the television side of things. Aside from my duties as a peer trainer at the Youth Channel (www.youthchannel.org), I’ve also started to direct and produce a new Hip Hop game show that will begin airing on MNN (www.mnn.org) in February. I’m also in pre production on a talk show and a finance show. I can’t share to many details about these projects but they will all be out this year.

What does success mean to you?

If I can live a happy life with media making being my main source of income then I’ll think that I’m successful. Media making is and forever will be a hobby. No matter how stressful it can be I still never fell like I’m “at work” when I’m doing it so if this can be how I pay all my bills I’ll feel very successful.

At the end of the day what do you want people to take away from your work?

I think any artist just want people to have an emotional reaction to what I produce. Whether it be with love or hate. If I make something and people react to it and have a conversation about it afterwards that’s all I could ask for.


What’s the latest projects your working on now?

I really want to make movies and music videos but when I got out of school I got a job in a TV station so I’ve been doing more stuff on the television side of things. Aside from my duties as a peer trainer at the Youth Channel (www.youthchannel.org), I’ve also started to direct and produce a new Hip Hop game show that will begin airing on MNN (www.mnn.org) in February. I’m also in pre production on a talk show and a finance show. I can’t share to many details about these projects but they will all be out this year.

What does success mean to you?

If I can live a happy life with media making being my main source of income then I’ll think that I’m successful. Media making is and forever will be a hobby. No matter how stressful it can be I still never fell like I’m “at work” when I’m doing it so if this can be the way I pay all my bills I’ll feel very successful.

At the end of the day what do you want people to take away from your work?

I think any artist just want people to have an emotional reaction to what I produce. Whether it be with love or hate. If I make something and people react to it and have a conversation about it afterwards that’s all I could ask for.

What is one struggle you’ve faced either now or in the past?

I’m one of those people that can let there fear of failing stop them from doing something. I can easily find excuses not to do something but as I get older I’m getting a lot better at just doing things, seeing how they come out and improving on it for the next time. My stuff is never wack either so I don’t even know what I’m scared of.

The Recession” has it effected you in anyway?

The only way the Recession has hurt me has been in finding a full time job. People are not hiring, and when they are I’m going up against people who have been in the industry for years. A lot of times the people I’m going up against had higher profile/higher paying jobs that they have since lost, now they’re taking the entry level jobs that people like me are supposed to get. I don’t really want a 9 to 5 job anyway so it really has not effected me as a artist.

What if, any, influences you and your work?

BROOKLYN! Hip-hop, those two things heavily influence everything I do so of course it’s all in my art.

What can the people expect from you in the future?

In the immediate future just look out for a lot of music videos (I just shot my first one) more tv shows and a few shorts. Hopefully after enough of that I will have worked my way into directing feature films.

Links to your work and contact info?

I have a youtube page you can check out youtube.com/youngspike and anyone looking to collaborate can hit me up at S.Digital01@gmail.com

O.U..T… DJM.NILA

~ by B.A.N. Sheep~ on February 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
